Lemon_Cake_1

I have been guilty of letting my blogs gather dust over months. Someone had rightly said that the longer the gap, the harder it is to get back. Although my experiments with food is still the same, the enthusiasm to click pictures and draft posts died a slow death. When colleagues / friends taste my food and ask for recipes, I still come back to the blog to look for links and feel sad for its dormant state. Recently one of my relatives suddenly pinged me on Facebook and appreciated my blog and asked why I have stopped posting new recipes. I promised her that I would post a recipe soon. It is the love and faith of readers that keeps the bloggers going. And I am so grateful to all you lovely people who frequent my blogs in spite of my erratic posting patterns.

Although I haven’t been active on my blogs, I have been regularly reading fellow bloggers. I recently came across this Lemon Cake recipe at TGND’s space and the picture and the comments tempted me to bake it at the earliest. TGND had in turn tried GB’s recipe. Thank you TGND and GB. The cake turned out amazingly delicious. The proof of the cake was in its disappearing 😀 I had actually prepared the cake to return one of Abbas’s colleague’s dabba. I baked it in the evening and there were only a couple of pieces left by morning. I skipped the lemon glaze this time, but I’m gonna try it the next time.

Ingredients:

For the cake:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup maida or all purpose flour
  • A pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest (Whole lemon can be carefully grated so that only the yellow peel gets grated and not the white portion. Peel of 2 lemons yield approx 1 tbsp of zest)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk (You can add 1/2 a tsp of vinegar in 1/4 cup milk and let it rest for 15 mins instead)

For the glaze:

  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Recipe:

1. In a bowl, mix together the lemon juice, egg, oil, buttermilk, lemon zest, and granulated sugar. Beat well, till the sugar melts fully.

2. Add the other ingredients – maida, salt, baking powder, baking soda and wheat flour – to the bowl. Fold into the wet mixture gently. Mix everything thoroughly.

3. Preheat the oven for 10 minutes at 180 degrees. In the meanwhile, grease and flour a cake tin and keep ready. (I used a bundt cake tin)

4. When the oven is hot and ready, pour the batter into the cake tin. Let it bake for about 40 minutes at 180 degrees, or until a knife inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

5. While the cake is cooking, prepare the lemon glaze. For the glaze, mix together the teaspoonful of lemon juice and powdered sugar well. While the cake is still warm, remove it from the cake pan and spread the glaze evenly all over it.

Lemon_Cake_2 Lemon_Cake_3

